How do I hide a role from the schedule view?
Can an individual role be hidden from the schedule view?
Not permanently, but you can filter roles out of your schedule view while you are scheduling. Every role that exists in your 7shifts account structure will remain visible in the schedule builder. There is no toggle to permanently suppress a role from appearing without removing the role or its assigned employees entirely.
See the options below for the best approach based on your needs.
Note: If this is a workflow your operation needs, you can share your feedback with the 7shifts product team via the ? help icon in your account.
What To Do
Admins can utilize three primary methods to manage the schedule builder view depending on your needs.
Option 1: Filter roles from your schedule view
The fastest way to remove a role from your schedule view is by using the Role filter. This does not permanently remove the role, it simply hides it while you are scheduling.
- In the left navigation bar, go to the Schedule page.
- In the Department drop-down, select the arrow next to the department name to expand and view all roles within it.
- All roles are selected by default. Select or deselect the roles you'd like to appear.
-
Click Go to apply your selection.
Option 2: Delete the role
To permanently remove a role that is no longer needed and contains no active employees, complete the following steps to delete the role:
- In the left navigation bar, go to Settings, then select Locations, Departments & Roles.
- Select the Roles tab.
- Find the role targeted for removal and click the More options icon (three dots).
- Confirm the deletion. Deleting a role is permanent and cannot be undone.
- Unassigns roles from existing shifts
- Removes this role and wage data from all users
- Deletes all punches that are assigned to this role
- Task lists assigned to this role will not be reachable
Important: A role cannot be deleted if employees are currently assigned to the role. Reassign or remove the employees from the Role first, then delete the role.
Option 3: Move roles to an archived department
To retain roles and role history but remove the roles from the active schedule view, complete the following steps to create and filter an archived department:
- Go to Settings, select Locations, Departments & Roles, and select the Departments tab.
- Click Add Department and name the department a recognizable term, such as "Archived Roles".
- Click Save.
- Contact 7shifts Support and request that 7shifts Support move the active roles into the new archived department.
- Open the Schedule page and use the department filter to uncheck "Archived Roles" to hide the archived department from the active schedule view.