How to Delete Departments
If you no longer need a department in your 7shifts account, you can delete it to keep your account organized. Deleting a department will remove all associated data, including task lists, shifts and employee assignments. This action is permanent, so ensure you have the correct department selected before proceeding.
Things To Know
Important: Only Admins can access Departments in 7shifts to delete a department.
- Departments can be deleted only in the 7shifts web app.
- Deleting a department in 7shifts is permanent, so confirm the correct department is selected before deleting.
- Deleting a department removes all associated data, including task lists, shifts, and employee assignments.
- Any existing shifts and staff assigned to the deleted department are transferred to the replacement department selected during deletion.
How to delete a department in the 7shifts web app
Caution: Deleting a location, department, or role in 7shifts may result in the loss of important data. Learn more about Backing Up Your Data.
Note: If you're unsure whether to delete a department in 7shifts, contact our Support team before proceeding.
- Log in to the 7shifts web app as an Admin.
- Go to Settings (or click your profile icon) > Locations, Departments & Roles.
- Select the Departments tab.
- Click the More options
icon.
- Select Delete.
- Choose a new department from the drop-down menu. Any existing shifts and staff assigned to the deleted department are transferred to the new department.
- Click Delete to confirm the changes.
Next Steps
After you delete a department in 7shifts, review the replacement department to confirm the transferred shifts and staff appear as expected.