How to close a timesheet in Time Clocking
Once all punches are approved, you can close a timesheet in 7shifts for a location and prevent further manual edits to punches.
Things to know
Important: Manager and Assistant Manager users need two permissions to close timesheets: "Can manage time punches" and "Can close timesheets". Admin users can close timesheets without additional permissions.
- A timesheet is specific to a location and exists within a pay period. Closing a timesheet prevents further manual edits to that location's punches, but employees can still dispute punches until the pay period is closed. Once the pay period is closed, no further disputes can be made and approval status cannot change.
- Closing a timesheet requires all punches to be approved at the time of close.
- If an employee disputes a punch after the timesheet is closed, that punch resets to unapproved and is excluded from the Worked Hours & Wages report. Check for disputed punches and re-approve them before exporting labor data for payroll.
- Closed timesheets can be reopened if edits are needed. See Reopen a Timesheet for steps.
- If you have multiple locations, you'll need to close each timesheet separately.
Close a timesheet
For single-location accounts, closing the timesheet also closes the pay period. For multi-location accounts, each location has its own timesheet that must be closed separately before the pay period is considered closed.
- Log into the web app as an Admin or a Manager/Assistant Manager with permissions.
- Navigate to Time Clocking in the left navigation bar, then click Review next to a pay period date.
- Select the Location from the drop-down menu:
- Review any warnings that appear for the current pay period:
- Click Close location timesheet:
- If you have multiple locations, repeat these steps to close the timesheet for each location.
Next steps
With the timesheet closed, you can download or export your labor data for payroll.