How to make changes to a published schedule
Before editing and making updates to your 7shifts schedule, ensure you understand how to re-publish shifts so your employees receive updated notifications and can view their new shift times.
Things To Know
Important: Managers/Assistant mangers require the "Can manage schedules" permission to edit and publish shifts.
- When you delete or modify shifts in 7shifts, the changes remain in draft mode and appear yellow until they are published.
- Modified shifts will not automatically update for your team or become visible to employees until you re-publish the schedule.
- You can choose to notify only the employees whose shifts were specifically altered during the re-publishing process.
- If an assigned shift is in the Shift Pool, editing its date or time and publishing the schedule will automatically remove it from the pool. The employee will receive an in-app notification letting them know and can offer the shift up again if they still need coverage.
Steps to edit shifts and re-publish your schedule:
Use the tabs to change your viewing preferences through the mobile or web app:
- Log in to the 7shifts mobile app and tap the calendar icon on the bottom navigation bar.
- Tap on an existing shift you wish to modify.
-
Tap the Pencil icon to edit shift details or use the three dots menu to publish the shift, delete the shift or add/change Shift Flag.
- Make the necessary changes to the shift details.
-
Tap Save shift to place the modified shift into draft mode.
- From there the shift will be in draft mode (unpublished) and yellow in color. They will still need to be published before the changes are live for the Employee.
-
Return to the schedule page and tap Publish Schedule.
-
Review the pre-selected departments, roles, and days, adjust if needed, then choose your notification preference.
- Tap Publish changes to make the changes live for employees.
- Log in to the 7shifts web app and select Schedule from the left navigation bar.
-
Locate the shift you need to modify and make the necessary changes.
Tip! For faster edits on the web, right-click on the shift you wish to change. From the shortcut menu, you can quickly select Copy, Edit, Delete, Duplicate or Publish a shift.
- Click Publish schedule to open the publish modal once all edits are complete.
- Review the pre-selected departments, roles, and days in the publish modal, adjust if needed, then choose your notification preference.
- Click Publish changes to make the changes live for employees.