Permission Templates

As you add new users to your Management team, you can make quick updates to their permissions in just a few clicks! Create a template that will apply default permissions to newly created Managers/Assistance Managers, and bulk update the assigned users should their permissions change. 

SKIP AHEAD TO:
Access your Permission Templates
Apply your permission Templates:
1. While creating a new user profile
2. While updating an employee profile
3. 'Employees Assigned' - bulk manage assigned users
4. 'Employees Assigned' - bulk update templates and permissions
Frequently Asked Questions

⚠️ This feature is only available on Gourmet

⚠️ Only Admins
are able to create default permission templates within their Company Settings


Access your Permission Templates

  1. Log in as an Admin.

  2. In the top navigation bar, hover over the 7shifts logo, and select Company Settings. Once on the Company Settings page, set User Permissions:

    compsettings1.png
  3. Click on the pencil icon Screen_Shot_2022-10-28_at_9.54.21_PM.png, next to the user type you would like to edit the permission template for.

    Screen_Shot_2022-12-02_at_8.57.02_AM.png

  4. Use the checkboxes to enable/disable any default permissions.

  5. Click 'Save' to complete these changes.

Apply your Permission Templates

The following section will outline each of these four methods:

(1) While creating a new user profile

Upon employee creation, you'll have the option to apply the Default Permission Sets from the User Type dropdown menu:

compS2.png

 

(2) Individually updating an employee profile 

  1. In the top navigation bar, hover over 'More' and select 'Employees'. Once on the 'Employees' page, find the user you would like to update and click on their profile to expand it.

  2. Click Permissions, on the left-hand menu.

  3. Click Reset to template settings:
    Screen_Shot_2022-12-01_at_4.01.02_PM.png
    The user's permissions will update and match the template that you had set up for this user level-type:

    Untitled_design__5_.gif

(3) 'Employees Assigned' - bulk manage assigned users 

Quickly manage the users that are assigned to a template in a few simple clicks!

  1. In the top navigation bar, hover over the 7shifts logo and click on Company Settings. Once on the Company Settings page, select the User Permissions'tab:

    Screen_Shot_2022-12-01_at_4.17.43_PM.png

  2. Click on the pencil icon Screen_Shot_2022-10-28_at_9.54.21_PM.png, next to the user type you would like to make changes to.

  3. A list of employees that are assigned to this template will appear on the right.
    To navigate this list, you can use the search bar to find a specific employee, or use the arrows to flip through the pages (each page view will list 15 users).

    Screen_Shot_2022-12-02_at_9.21.22_AM.png

    1. To add unique permissions for a single user. Click on the ellipses Screen_Shot_2022-12-01_at_5.26.25_PM.png  next to a user's name > View profile, and you'll be redirected to their individual user profile. From here, you can further customize their unique permissions in addition to the permissions set by the template:

          ⚠️ Please note: any unique permissions, in addition to the template, are only assigned to the user - and do not make any changes to the template itself or other users on it.  


      Screen_Shot_2022-12-01_at_5.24.54_PM.png


    2. To add multiple users to this template, click on + Assign.

      Screen_Shot_2022-12-02_at_9.14.38_AM.png

      Next, use the search bar or arrows to locate specific employees, and click the checkboxes to select the user(s) to be added. 

      assign3.png

      When you're ready, click Assign x employees to complete these changes!

      If there are no users assigned to this template, you will instead click Assign employees:

      Screen_Shot_2022-12-01_at_5.22.58_PM.png

      ⚠️ Please note

      New accounts will show every user (for example, every Manager) because adding a new employee will automatically assign them to this template:

      Screen_Shot_2022-12-01_at_5.55.09_PM.png

(4) 'Employees Assigned' - bulk update templates and permissions 

When making updates to a Permission Template, you will have the option to propagate the changes to all the assigned users at the same time.

  1. In the top navigation bar, hover over the 7shifts logo and click on Company Settings. Once on the Company Settings page, select the User Permissions tab:

    Screen_Shot_2022-12-01_at_4.17.43_PM.png

  2. Click on the pencil icon Screen_Shot_2022-10-28_at_9.54.21_PM.png, next to the template you would like to make changes to:

    Screen_Shot_2022-12-02_at_8.57.02_AM.png

  3. Make any necessary changes to the default permissions.

  4. Click Save.

  5. In the Update assigned users pop-up window, you can review the added Permissions and the users that are currently assigned to the user type (for example, a list of all users that were given a Manager user type):

    Screen_Shot_2022-12-02_at_8.59.24_AM.png

  6. Select the users you would like to add these permissions to, or checkmark All assigned users to select them all:

    Screen_Shot_2022-12-02_at_9.00.37_AM.png

  7. Click Save & update selected users to complete these changes.

    You have successfully updated the template and the permissions of the selected users!

FAQs

Q: When updating a user's permissions, does it update the Permission Template too?

A: No, the update is a one-way sync from the Permission Template > User. Updating a user's permission will not make any changes to the Permission Template. If you would like to update the default permissions of a template, you will need to do this from within your Company Settings.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful